Thoughts on Healthy Eating

I really like eating healthy. I love knowing that what I am putting into my body is benefitting me. It just makes me feel so good! Since I have been home, it has been harder to eat as healthy as I normally would because the rest of my family does not share the same habits. I do not have the money to go out and stock up on my own food, so I have to eat whatever is at the house. It has been kind of frustrating for both me and my parents. They get very annoyed sometimes when I say I do not want to eat something because it is unhealthy. I do not want to cause any problems or even try to tell them what they should or should not be eating. I just do not want to put junk in my body. The main reason they eat and buy the things they do is because they can unhealthy food cheaper and at a higher quantity than healthy food, but I am pretty stressed out. We have some fruit and vegetables in the house, but the bread my parents buy is barely better than white bread, the peanut butter is chalk-full of sugar, as is the yogurt. My dad also insists on having Little Caesar’s pizza once a week or so and tempting desserts are a constant in the house. After only occasionally eating foods such as these, I now feel as though I am putting trash into my body almost every time I eat.

My question:

How do I handle this properly-without offending anyone?

With that said, I had a very nice walk with my sister this morning.  We were going to run originally, but her ankle was sore and we decided walking would be a better option. It was quite chilly outside, to our surprise, but it felt nice after we got warmed up a bit. We walked and talked and had a great time. Our walk was about 1.5 miles long.

When we got back, I felt like doing more, so I ran on the treadmill. I did a total of 2 miles in about 23 minutes. I started with a warm-up walk for 5 minutes and then ran 10 minutes at 6 mph. At the end of 10 minutes I ran an additional 5 minutes, this time at 7 mph. Then I did a 3 minute cool-down walk for 3 minutes. I had never tried running at 7 mph on the treadmill before and I am very pleased with how it went. It was only for 5 minutes, but I had expected to be more winded than I ended up being. My whole running time zoomed by and felt great. I barely noticed the time passing, except near the end when my phone, which was playing my music, froze and I spent about a minute trying to fix it-while running-before I finally gave up on it and just tried to think of music in my head or focus on breathing. I made it through alright without the music though.

Tomorrow I am thinking of maybe doing a P90X workout. I have not done one in a seriously long time and I miss it. I need to also think of more workouts I can do and plan them out for different days. It is harder to do when I do not have access to a gym, but I will figure it out!

 

2 thoughts on “Thoughts on Healthy Eating

  1. You mention your family doesn’t really eat healthy – that’s a bummer. I think we all have those kinds of relatives, whether it be immediate family or not, that don’t have the best eating habits… and whenever we’re with them, it can be super tough. Have you tried saying, “Hey – I’ll go pick up some groceries and cook for you all tonight!”…maybe it’ll work?
    Or, have you talked to them about how important it is for you to eat heathy? Maybe they’ll join in, or at least respect / support your endeavor?

    • laurentope says:

      Thanks for the suggestion! I have talked to them a little bit about it and they have been trying to do better lately!

Leave a comment